Shortening Already Short Words


This article will by no means be remembered as one of the most inspirational and thought-provoking pieces of our time, but I’m going somewhere with this. Stay tuned for the fanatical conclusion.

Anyway, to get there, we must dissect the English language a bit. Recently, thanks to the invention of text messaging, it has become convenient for our thumb muscles to shorten our messages in order to get our point across. For instance, “you” becomes “u”, “are” becomes “r”, “any” becomes “n e”, “why” becomes “y”, and things like the ‘g’s on -ing words get dropped. Makes sense, they seem to resemble each other phonetically.

So what’s the point, Mr. Author Man?

Well, this has led to a general degradation in overall “writing”, a term which is here used generously. I’m not saying that “texting” is a form of media that must be crushed – it does have uses in certain situations. However, it is this lazy writing that takes away from the dynamic punch that words can have. Then again, wordiness is not so appreciated, either.

What I’m trying to say is how lazy will we get? We are creatures of convenience in our post-industrial lifestyles, requiring the aid of spell-checkers, fact-checkers, and constant proofreading to ensure correctness. Also, this need to acquire information instantaneously is problematic, as we are upset when such information is not available when we demand it.

So, this word shortening is an overall step towards this stagnation of our culture, and our obsessive need for the present. Take some time, write things out – you’re hopefully not being charged by the letter.

And for those of you who use these shortenings in actual essays and publications, your arguments look as though a child conceived them, no matter how correct they may be.

Remember, this story will have a more important follow-up tomorrow. Maybe two, if I can churn out this other related idea.
https://i2.wp.com/www.everyjoe.com/thegadgetblog/files/2009/08/text-speak.jpg
U’ll c.

Let Shortening Already Short Words Die

13 responses to “Shortening Already Short Words

  1. Also, this makes it impossible for people who don’t speak English and use a translator to understand you.

  2. Hello! Writing short words like in text messages is likely to be a trend nowadays. Text messages limit us with the numbers of letters and words, in result, we tend to maximize it or do some short-cuts to words. It really affects the good writing and correct spelling, so the need for proofreading is very much needed in this case. Great post!

  3. People still manage to post in full sentences on Twitter, though, and it’s just as (or in some cases more) limited. It’s a matter of wanting to (or never having learned not to).

  4. Pingback: Sexting « Things That Need To Die

  5. One of the many reasons why I hate Twitter. I don’t think in 140 character soundbites, and I send paragraph length text messages because it’s more work to try and figure out how to drastically shorten what I’m trying to say. Honestly, I prefer to talk on the phone or better yet, in person so nothing gets lost in translation.

  6. LOL!!! I thought I was the only one who felt this way. My favorite is when people use K to say OK. Its two letters people, come on!!! Are you that lazy?

  7. Interesting!!!

  8. Agree with you completely! I am really against this degradation of our written (and spoken too, sometimes) language.

  9. LOL – I love that “heart attack” and “burning” are typed completely but “is” needs to be shortened.

  10. I hate this too. First, I hardly able to understand what they say. Second, if I try to get used of them, I have chance of writing shortened words to people that I supposed to be formal to. It happen to me that I keep using smillie to business partners I just start to acknowledge.

  11. @lilythompson lol, I didn’t notice that they spelled out heart attack and burning. Even more hilarious.

  12. You are awesome.
    I was worried that I was the only one who ever thought of this and what was happening to the English language. I support you 100%.

  13. I’m writing a argumentive essay for a school magazine and your post really helped me further grasp the concept.

Leave a Reply

