Loose vs. Lose


I amazed that people are confused by this. I can understand a little with words like ‘affect’ and ‘effect’, but the meanings of the words loose and lose aren’t even close!

Now, loose can be used as either a adjective or a verb. As an adjective, it is the opposite of tight. Ever buy pants that fall down when you try to wear them? That means they’re loose.

As a verb, loose is usually used in terms of arrows: “He loosed a volley of arrows upon his adversaries.” I do assume it can be used in other instances of releasing something, but I’ve not come across them.

As either of these things, Loose does not mean fail to keep.

Lose, however, is just a verb. It can be applied to sports, where, with 2 opposing teams, one team wins, and the other loses. Lose can also mean misplace, as we all do from time to time. “I lost the remote!” is a common utterance in my household.

Still, however, Lose does not mean too large or let go.

So, how does one keep these oh-so-hard to remember facts in mind? Well, here’s my handy reference chart:

Loose – Think “too big”. The two o’s in too should make you think “Oh! I need to use ‘loose’ here.”
Lose – Think “oh man!”, as it’s never fun to lose things. It should make you think of the situations in which lose is used.

https://i1.wp.com/img2.allposters.com/images/ECH/01-P06-08.jpgIt’s not difficult, people. It hurts my soul a little to watch such a simple but misconstrued mistake. The definitions of each word are nowhere close to one another, and there is no situation in which it is acceptable to interchange these two words.

Got it?

No?

Then stay away from me, or I’ll beat you with a thesaurus.

Let The Misunderstanding Between Loose and Lose Die

Photo Credits: Here

3 responses to “Loose vs. Lose

  1. I like eet rough.

    or ruff.

  2. “Got it?

    No?

    Then stay away from me, or I’ll beat you with a thesaurus.”
    xD And if that doesn’t work, use my book-a-pult to launch each part of “The Merriam Webster Complete Dictionary-Thesaurus Book Set- a 1,279 volume set.”

  3. My example or two why people may confuse loose and lose:when you LOSE hair or teeth, they do come LOOSE, or separate, from the body. Ditto for my gruesome example of literally to LOSE one’s head in a car accident. Otherwise, loose means not fastened, and lose means to fail to keep or win.

Leave a Reply

