Skittles Fizzl’d Fruits


Distributed for sale in 2010, Skittles Fizzl’d Fruits are a variety on the Skittle candy. Fizzl’d Fruits use the same base flavors of candy as the Wild Berry variety, but with an added punch: they are coated in a “sour and fizzing” powder.

With that out of the way, time to explain why I care! Recently, I had the…well…”opportunity” to ingest some of these confuddling confectioneries. Upon identifying the novelty with which these Skittles were imbued, I thought “Oh, so, maybe they’re like Pop Rocks with Skittles underneath.”

Upon opening the bag, it was clear that my guess was likely to be a little off. The candies’ coatings looked as though they’d been lightly sprayed with confectioner’s sugar or flour, or some similar fine white substance. Well, so far so good, I guess. I poured out a handful of five candies, four blue, one purple. Then my taste test began.

I started by just eating one of the Skittles. Almost as soon as I placed it on my tongue, I noticed a peculiar sensation on my taste buds. This sensation was very much like that of physical pain. It wasn’t even mildly excruciating – it was somewhat like how one’s limb feels when it falls asleep. Nevertheless, I continued to suck off the coating, rather disturbed. However, I must admit that the Skittle underneath was incredibly delicious.

My next test involved taking a handful of Skittles and eating a whole mouthful at once. This was a mistake – almost immediately, the tingly sensation produced on my tongue was magnified by the number of candies. Additionally, the coating was being dissolved by my saliva into a solution of some form. This made the open areas remaining in my mouth fill up with an incredibly warm, salty syrup.

I felt like I had just taken a drink of the ocean.

After spending a good minute trying to not vomit, I eventually dissolved the remaining coatings and enjoyed the encapsulated candies.

Yes, Skittles Fizzl’d Fruits offer a unique experience. Although, they largely succeed in producing a feeling of relief only after enduring the “flavored” coating. It was a wretched experience, and I wish to not have it again.

Incidentally, I am inspired to pick up a bag of Wild Berry Skittles. Fancy that.

Let Skittles Fizzl’d Fruits Die

Photo Credits: Here

One response to “Skittles Fizzl’d Fruits

  1. LAWL HELLSKITTULZ RITE? AMIRITE ER AMIRITE?

Leave a Reply

