Overusing Ellipsis Marks


You…may think…that you’re being…cleverly dramatic…by including…so many…sets of period marks…in your sentences. Yet…surely you…can…tell…that it makes you come…across…as more…of a…sloth…than an…exemplary…writer.

Also…why differentiate the…..number..of dots? The…implied pause…doesn’t…………….really get all that..much……longer…or…..shorter…due to your abuse…of this….writing device. A…true…ellipsis…generally…..has precisely..three…dots.

…So, …what I guess…I’m….trying…..to say….is…..people…who compulsively type like….this…are…probably showcasing…how very tired…they are while they type…and…need…to let others….

…know.

Let Overusing Ellipsis Marks…Die

Photo Credits: Here

2 responses to “Overusing Ellipsis Marks

  1. I use 3…
    Well, sometimes 4….
    If I’m rushing, a lot………………………………..
    But that’s not my fault.
    My keyboard somemtimes spazzzes out,,,,,,,,,,,
    Anyway,,, good blog…

  2. I hate people like this. They think they’re so much better than others only because they use grammer differently…does it matter that much… That some people use ellipses? Or more than 1 question mark?? It just shows you’re rich (too much time on your hands while the rest of us are working to pay bills) or you’re a pretentious prick, probably both.
    Now to you and anyone who doesn’t agree, did you notice the 1 instead of one? If you didn’t, then agreeing with “not over using ellipses” but not “switching from alphabetical to numerical” is proven to be a pointless rant who thinks themselves to be the grammar police, when rants like these are 90% of the world’s problem…aka the “everyone needs to be just like me or they’re stupid” type post.
    No need to point out the irony of my posting, I know. But I’m not starting these threads…I’m…clarifying them.

Leave a Reply

